About Us

ALISON`S WELCOME – nursery founder and manager

Children have a very special way of viewing the world, one we would all do well to hold onto for as long as we can. I personally have gained so much from having the privilege to share this view with so many over the last 25 years and I feel very lucky.

I have seen many changes from venues to curriculum, staff to children, government policies to regulatory bodies, but what hasn`t changed is my passion and commitment to provide and support great quality childcare. I believe Wizz Kids manages this by putting children and their families at the forefront of everything we do.

Anyone who has heard my sales pitch will know I often say “Nurseries are looking after the most precious thing in your life so therefore you need to be absolutely certain you are making the right choice for you and your child”

You have to be sure staff are confident and hold the correct skills and knowledge to be excellent Early Year`s educators whilst also being approachable, empathetic and tender . This ensures that every unique child receives the best start  they can.

We pride ourselves on achieving a very personal service, aiming to accommodate every family`s different requirements and levels of support. Children and their families come in all sorts of different shapes and sizes, both physically and emotionally. This is why it is so important to have an open mind and a definite ‘We Can’ approach to whatever or whoever comes our way. Please come and have a look for yourselves, see the level of engagement our children show in all that they do, come and meet the staff and see their dedication to education and care and I think once you have, you will know you are making the right choice 


Alison Vickers – General Manager

Hannah Marsh – Deputy Manager

We have a dedicated team of around 10 qualified Early Years Practitioners and also support an apprentice through her studies.  We also have two dedicated team members who oversee our SEND children and a team member who is responsible for education at pre school. We welcome volunteers from local schools to gain work experience with children



Our Vision for every child is  :

At Wizz Kids I have a right to :

  • Physical and emotional well being
  • Have my needs met
  • A voice and to be heard
  • My own ideas, interests and fascinations
  • Be treated fairly
  • Have my identity recognised and valued
  • Play and have fun
  • Be Included
  • Be safe and secure

Term Dates

October half term holiday  : 29th Oct – 2nd November 2018 inclusive

Christmas holidays break up on 21st December, full year return on Wednesday 2nd January,

term time children  return on Monday 7th Jan 2019

Term Dates and Holidays for Academic Year 2018 / 2019

School Calendar for the 2018-19 Academic Year


As a charity, not for profit pre-school, Wizz Kids is governed by a committee, which is responsible under the Charity Commission’s governing document for controlling the management and administration of the nursery.   We are also affiliated to the Pre-school Learning Alliance and are bound by their constitution.

We are always looking for new people to join the committee.  If you are interested, please ask a member of staff or drop us an email – mailto:staff@totleywizzkids.co.uk  for more information.

Committee Members:

  • Louisa Cheshire – Chair
  • Kim Sitwell – Treasurer
  • Fran Arnold – Secretary
  • Joe Bawden
  • Amy Wright – safeguarding lead
  • Sofie Mobbs
  • Alison Vickers – manager

For any one wishing to contact the committee we have set up a dedicated email account, the address is wizzkidscommittee@gmail.com.


We were last inspected on 20th October 2015 and a copy of the report is available below:

ofsted report 2015

OFSTED awarded us `GOOD` in all areas  .

OFSTED report oct 2015

“staff act as good role models”

“Children have good opportunities to be physically active”


The following prices are our current charges for the different age bands and are set to be reviewed in September 2019.

  • Under Two :£5.70 per hour or session rates as follows : 8am -12pm £21, 12pm -5pm £26.25
  • Two year olds : £4.95 per hour
  • Three year olds : £ 4.65 per hour.

Children accessing 30 hour top up hours are asked to pay a voluntary £50 fee p.c.m. to cover consumables and utilities e.g. snack, craft materials

Invoices are sent out one month in advance and must be paid in advance every month.

Wizz Kids is registered to receive Childcare Vouchers and if you are employed it is worth enquiring about them with your employer. It is a government scheme which allows you to pay for childcare from your PRE tax and national insurance salary. Each parent can buy up to £243 worth per month, tax free (changes apply to higher rate tax payers from April 2011). For further information ask your employer which provider they use. It is essential that vouchers for NI credits for working parents are received prior to paying your invoice as they cannot be back dated. You will only receive tax and NICS exempt vouchers after you have formally agreed with your employer to join a childcare voucher scheme.

As an example, if you are due to pay Wizz Kids on 7th August and your first childcare vouchers are due to be issued on 15th August, you will be required to pay Wizz Kids in full on 7th August. If vouchers are paid later, they will be credited to next month`s invoice.

There is a new government scheme called ` Tax – free childcare `which should be fully implemented by the end of 2017. The scheme allow  parents to pay into an account to use for childcare payments, for every £8 paid in , HM Government will add another £2. Wizz Kids is registered to accept payments from this scheme.

Every child will receive a Nursery Grant the term after they are 3 years old.  This entitles them to up to 15 hours per week, 38 weeks a year completely free.  It can be taken in various combinations to suit you at a number of settings. We are looking at providing the new government assisted top up grants of 30 hours for working parents from September 2017. Each application will be assessed on its individual basis and places will be limited to enable us to provide places for younger children and babies. Please log onto `Childcare Choices ` – the government website designed to help understand childcare options and provide a taylor made calculator for individual families.

Fees are to be paid every month and can be paid by Standing Order, Cheque, BACS or Childcare Vouchers. Our Bank Details are Sort Code: 08-60-01 Account Number: 20332907. Cash payments are accepted by Key Holder staff: Alison Vickers (manager) Hannah Marsh (Deputy) and Gill Oates (administrator).  You will receive a receipt that must be kept as proof until you are sent an invoice showing the amount has been paid and cleared against your account.  Wizz Kids takes no responsibility for unaccountable cash payments.

To be able to maintain a suitable staffing ratio, there can be no refunds for illness or holiday.  Subsidized places are always available for families who find the fees too high.  Please do not hesitate to ask about these places and other forms of funding, such as the Family Tax Credit which can be used to pay up to 70% of your childcare cost